Hot Best Seller

Beautiful People Don't Just Happen: How God Redeems Regret, Hurt, and Fear in the Making of Better Humans

Availability: Ready to download

Find the freedom from regret, hurt, and fear that God wants for you, so you can embrace a life of relief, joy, and hope in him--and become the beautiful person he wants you to be. We all carry regret, hurt, and fear. These are burdens that weigh us down and make us feel trapped. In twenty-five years of pastoral ministry, Scott Sauls has walked with countless individuals thro Find the freedom from regret, hurt, and fear that God wants for you, so you can embrace a life of relief, joy, and hope in him--and become the beautiful person he wants you to be. We all carry regret, hurt, and fear. These are burdens that weigh us down and make us feel trapped. In twenty-five years of pastoral ministry, Scott Sauls has walked with countless individuals through weary seasons and circumstances. From his own battles with anxiety and depression, he knows personally what it's like to be unfinished and on the mend under Jesus's merciful, mighty healing hand. Beautiful People Don't Just Happen reads like a field guide to help you learn what the Bible calls "the secret of being content" in every circumstance, while also helping you to:  Find hope in how God is drawn toward you, not appalled by you, in your sin and sorrow. Practice emotional health with joy, gratitude, and lament. Quiet shaming, wearying thoughts with God's divine counter-voice. Discover that the defining feeling of faith is not strength, but dependent weakness. Grasp how God uses our struggles to make us more lovely. Dare to embrace the contentment, hope, and fullness God wants for you--the beautiful freedom offered to all who will receive it.


Compare

Find the freedom from regret, hurt, and fear that God wants for you, so you can embrace a life of relief, joy, and hope in him--and become the beautiful person he wants you to be. We all carry regret, hurt, and fear. These are burdens that weigh us down and make us feel trapped. In twenty-five years of pastoral ministry, Scott Sauls has walked with countless individuals thro Find the freedom from regret, hurt, and fear that God wants for you, so you can embrace a life of relief, joy, and hope in him--and become the beautiful person he wants you to be. We all carry regret, hurt, and fear. These are burdens that weigh us down and make us feel trapped. In twenty-five years of pastoral ministry, Scott Sauls has walked with countless individuals through weary seasons and circumstances. From his own battles with anxiety and depression, he knows personally what it's like to be unfinished and on the mend under Jesus's merciful, mighty healing hand. Beautiful People Don't Just Happen reads like a field guide to help you learn what the Bible calls "the secret of being content" in every circumstance, while also helping you to:  Find hope in how God is drawn toward you, not appalled by you, in your sin and sorrow. Practice emotional health with joy, gratitude, and lament. Quiet shaming, wearying thoughts with God's divine counter-voice. Discover that the defining feeling of faith is not strength, but dependent weakness. Grasp how God uses our struggles to make us more lovely. Dare to embrace the contentment, hope, and fullness God wants for you--the beautiful freedom offered to all who will receive it.

30 review for Beautiful People Don't Just Happen: How God Redeems Regret, Hurt, and Fear in the Making of Better Humans

  1. 5 out of 5

    Becca

    A beautiful book that reads like a balm for the weary. A book you want to simultaneously savor and devour. For fans of Gentle and Lowly. Loved!

  2. 4 out of 5

    Wes Van Fleet

    Goodness! Sauls always writes such helpful and caring books. This one spoke to me as if he and I were sitting down together talking about all the things that haunt me, while being reminded of all I believe and hope for. You may need some tissues with this one but I highly recommend it.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Hope Helms

    3.5 stars at least. I think I struggle to write a review just because I read this so close to reading Gentle and Lowly which is in a similar vein. This was less dry than the latter so I’m not sure why I’m giving it a lower rating? Perhaps need to digest it a bit more.

  4. 5 out of 5

    Diane Hidey

    Sauls tears back the wrapping we often see on Christian leaders and gives us a glimpse into the world we all experience. His deep and honest sharing is a beacon of hope for those who struggle with emotional issues. Sauls points to Scripture and Christ’s example, yet not in a flippant way, but with passion and helpful words. It’s a book of hope for the tired and weary. It’s a blueprint and map for those that are lost. After all, ‘I am bound for the promised land’.

  5. 5 out of 5

    Tyler Davis

    Certified banger. Experiencing hurt and pain doesn’t make you less of a Christian or disqualify you from being an ambassador for Christ…perhaps that pain forces you to lean on the Savior and makes you an even better ambassador.

  6. 4 out of 5

    Ronald J. Pauleus

    Some good truth. The authors theology limits his address of this topic, it could have been much more beautiful.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Audrey

    I finished this book and immediately flipped to the beginning to start reading it again with a highlighter in my hand.

  8. 5 out of 5

    Kara

    I am attracted to books written by Christian people who suffer like a moth to a flame. These authors write from a posture of humility, desperation for Jesus, and a deep love for people. This book is written in this perspective as are others I have read by Pastor Scott and have greatly enjoyed. He always does a great job of writing from a place of balancing Truth and Love. It is an encouraging book to read as a fellow sufferer, and brought much encouragement similar to a book like Gentle and Lowl I am attracted to books written by Christian people who suffer like a moth to a flame. These authors write from a posture of humility, desperation for Jesus, and a deep love for people. This book is written in this perspective as are others I have read by Pastor Scott and have greatly enjoyed. He always does a great job of writing from a place of balancing Truth and Love. It is an encouraging book to read as a fellow sufferer, and brought much encouragement similar to a book like Gentle and Lowly. However, he brings much more on the human side in this book, but you will be much encouraged in your walk with Jesus. I especially appreciated his last few prologues for those who specifically walk with anxiety/depression struggles.

  9. 4 out of 5

    Carole Duff

    Beautiful People Don’t Just Happen is my favorite book by Scott Sauls to date. He shares himself as a deeply flawed human being—we all are—and takes us down into the basement where fingers point inward in confession instead outward in blame. We are not good, Sauls rightly states, and so “…our esteem can be derived not from a sense of our own goodness but from belief in the goodness of God.” Are Christians hypocrites? Yes, but what makes us Christians is that we are self-aware, humble, and sadden Beautiful People Don’t Just Happen is my favorite book by Scott Sauls to date. He shares himself as a deeply flawed human being—we all are—and takes us down into the basement where fingers point inward in confession instead outward in blame. We are not good, Sauls rightly states, and so “…our esteem can be derived not from a sense of our own goodness but from belief in the goodness of God.” Are Christians hypocrites? Yes, but what makes us Christians is that we are self-aware, humble, and saddened by our hypocrisy. Savor the wisdom.

  10. 4 out of 5

    John

    Book #32 in 2022 5 Stars This is Scott Saul’s best work yet, and that’s saying a lot (if you’ve read any of his other works, you know). My heart and soul were deeply encouraged and refreshed by the words of grace. So if you want to know or need help believing “how God redeems regret, hurt, and fear in the making of better humans,” I know of know better place to start than right here with “Beautiful People Don’t Just Happen.” Pick up and read. 5 Stars for me is not only a book I would highly recomme Book #32 in 2022 5 Stars This is Scott Saul’s best work yet, and that’s saying a lot (if you’ve read any of his other works, you know). My heart and soul were deeply encouraged and refreshed by the words of grace. So if you want to know or need help believing “how God redeems regret, hurt, and fear in the making of better humans,” I know of know better place to start than right here with “Beautiful People Don’t Just Happen.” Pick up and read. 5 Stars for me is not only a book I would highly recommend, but also one I want to revisit again in a future reading.

  11. 4 out of 5

    Loraena

    This book is balm. Sometimes I have to fight for hope. It’s one of the reasons I do the work I do which might seem counter-intuitive, but @scottsauls gets it. Holding hope for others keeps me immersed in the gospel and the hope of redemption which also feeds my own need. This book is deeply comforting. If you feel anxious, burned-out, depressed, overwhelmed, exhausted, or grief-stricken this book is for you.

  12. 4 out of 5

    Vance Williams

    This encouraging book is equal parts catechism—about how God faithfully restores us despite our failings and through our afflictions—and honest, heartfelt confession—from a pastor willing to “get real” about his own sins and struggles. The sum is refreshingly hopeful and, if taken to heart, will yield a harvest of ever-more-beautiful followers of Christ Jesus.

  13. 5 out of 5

    Jordan Daniel

    I was disappointed in this book. For me, it was just average. Nothing jaw-dropping throughout the pages, but it was encouraging. I didn’t like how the author set up the book and didn’t have a clear vision or thesis for the book as well. All in all, it was a fine read.

  14. 5 out of 5

    Wendy

    Joins the small group of faith-related books I’ve given 5 stars too. Goes down easy but will stay with me. As a pretty happy person, I’ve gained much appreciation for the need for lament and grief. Definitely a walk builder.

  15. 5 out of 5

    Witt Thomas

    This book changed my life. It is so so good. I read everything I can by Pastor Sauls, and I think this is is best book to date. I would encourage everyone to read and reread it. I am so thankful for his voice in our world.

  16. 4 out of 5

    Susanna

    A beautiful book full of truth, hope and encouragement. I can’t recommend this book enough.

  17. 4 out of 5

    Josh Cranston

    A really easy, quiet, peaceful read. A very hope-inspiring read. I'm grateful to have spent some time here. A really easy, quiet, peaceful read. A very hope-inspiring read. I'm grateful to have spent some time here.

  18. 4 out of 5

    Michele

    Very thankful for the honesty of this book! I listened on Audible and I think I will have it on repeat.

  19. 4 out of 5

    Kristi Steen

    Excellent read!

  20. 5 out of 5

    Nicole Kleinhans

    Good for the soul. Humble, wise, honest, beautiful, hopeful. Loved. 5 ⭐️

  21. 5 out of 5

    Seth Woodley

  22. 5 out of 5

    Hans Colenbrander

  23. 5 out of 5

    Autrey Eastman

  24. 5 out of 5

    Brian

  25. 5 out of 5

    Denease

  26. 5 out of 5

    Amy Petersen

  27. 4 out of 5

    Jina

  28. 5 out of 5

    Mark Haack

  29. 4 out of 5

    Matt

  30. 4 out of 5

    Jill

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...